I believe in yesterday

Standard

Okay. So. Lots to catch up on for such a fast weekend.

Yesterday…(insert Beatles hit here. Not that garbage Boys II Men version.)

Yesterday I worked an 8 hour shift at my little part-time jerb. It doesn’t happen too often AND we were open an hour later so I just was expecting a sucky day.

A family came in and was trying to configure ideas for a particular mask. I was tossing out ideas and one was ‘noh face‘ from Spirited away.
The dad was American and kid was Asian.

Dad, “ooooh that’s a good idea. See Sam, a lot of people know the studio ghibli movies.” Dad explained how Sam goes to Japan and that he’s half Japanese so I replied “honto?” Which means really? In Japanese and dad responded back in Japanese then mom (who was Japanese) and daughter came around the corner and I said “Nihongo ga sqoshi wakarimasu” which means ‘I know a little Japanese’.
Mom, whom I later found out went by the name Kazumi, was so kind, polite and excited!
We all chatted for a while and I talked about my trip and where I went and where they got married and how long they were married and my face hurt from smiling so much. I had to let them go but I ended up running to the front so I could ring them out. I wrote down my email and gave it to them telling them I’d love to be friends since it’s difficult to learn a language without anyone to speak to it with. They humbly accepted and said bye in Japanese.
I. Was. On. Cloud……9!!!!

Then! Yes, there’s a then. THEN!

One of the most creative people I’d ever met in my life. Writing creatively, artistically, musically, the list goes on. And that I haven’t seen in about 10 years or more came into MY store (out of every store in the northern hemisphere) and I just about melted into a puddle.
It was so fantastic to see him again. I’m sure you can smell the teenage crush I had on him….
Either way it was nice to chat.
A couple hours later my ex boyfriend from 6 years ago, his mom came in and I helped her with a costume.
Not. Weird. At. All.

It was such an amazing day. I hope to hear from the Japanese family again. And even if I don’t, I made good friends with them.

After all of that the Triforce and I went to play dance games and even got photo bombed.

image

I asked mister photo bomber to join in on a selfie.

image

About Brunch At Tiffs

I love to write, read, crochet, thrift and reinvent. My hands make delicious concoctions and I love a good spur of the moment recipe. My life goal is to be a missionary for Japan. Oh yea and, Bunnies!...that is all...

Leave a Reply

