I’ve been productive!

Standard

So recently my skull has been feeling like it’s been cracked in 2 and my brain is oozing out. Basically I’ve been a very busy bee. My husband and I took over my father’s house while he lives down south, so basically we inherited a house for God only knows how long. This is great news guys! We get that special 7 letter word we’ve been lacking living at his parents house for the last year, can you guess it? PRIVACY!! 😀 And yes, it does deserve bold and italics because privacy is like a diamond; it’s precious to have.

The house was in a real shabby state to put it simply and it needs a LOT of work, so I get to utilize all of my master home decorating and home improvement skills I’ve obtained from Pinterest. It’s only been about a month and I’ve done more Pin projects than I’ve probably done all year. So here are a few of the things we’ve done:

Bathroom 'before'

Bathroom ‘before’

Bathroom 'after', with a new sink vanity, wallpaper and a little pizazz!

Bathroom ‘after’, with a new sink vanity, wallpaper and a little pizazz!

I had a bag of epsom salt lying around so I poured it into a large vase, put a dollar store bowl and candle in it and voila!  Also added some chalkboard paint on an old scotch decanter and filled with mouthwash, and glued a Dollar Tree candlestick to the bottom of a mason jar for some class

I had a bag of epsom salt lying around so I poured it into a large vase, put a dollar store bowl and candle in it and voila!
Also added some chalkboard paint on an old scotch decanter and filled with mouthwash, and glued a Dollar Tree candlestick to the bottom of a mason jar for some class

I know you've seen these everywhere; it was SO simple to make. I used the pump from the previous soap dispenser and popped it into here for a perfect fit.

I know you’ve seen these everywhere; it was SO simple to make. I used the pump from the previous soap dispenser and popped it into here for a perfect fit.

Found this nice shelf for about 2 bucks at Goodwill, it was a deep hunter green so I just took some spray paint to it to match my bathroom

Found this nice shelf for about 2 bucks at Goodwill, it was a deep hunter green so I just took some spray paint to it to match my bathroom

Found this at an antique shoppe, I believe it was for decoration plates or pictures, now serves as a towel rack, and I just love love love the birdcage toilet paper holder. It just so happened to work out that it fits rolls perfectly!

Found this at an antique shoppe, I believe it was for decoration plates or pictures, now serves as a towel rack, and I just love love love the birdcage toilet paper holder. It just so happened to work out that it fits rolls perfectly!

Now I've been wanting a kitchen island since we moved in and refused to pay for one when Pinterest showed me how easy it is to make one. We got this children's dresser for $5 at a yard sale (score!)

Now I’ve been wanting a kitchen island since we moved in and refused to pay for one when Pinterest showed me how easy it is to make one. We got this children’s dresser for $5 at a yard sale (score!)

Here is after I took out 2 drawers and the hardware therein. Looks pretty great if I may say so myself. Still needs new knobs and some paint.

Here is after I took out 2 drawers and the hardware therein. Looks pretty great if I may say so myself. Still needs new knobs and some paint.

This white rack was in the bathroom when we moved in, since we now have drawers in the bathroom vanity we don't need them so it has been reincarnated as a spice rack

This white rack was in the bathroom when we moved in, since we now have drawers in the bathroom vanity we don’t need them so it has been reincarnated as a spice rack

I’m still not sure what color to paint the kitchen island. I was thinking maybe white but it’s too simple, and a dark stain wouldn’t look good unless it’s the exact color of the cabinets (which I presume would be a hard color to match since it took years of grease and nicotine (not on my part) to get to the color they are). Any recommendations?

So that’s my commercial. I also did this I just didn’t feel like taking a picture.
And I tried these aromatic room scents for the first time with just cinnamon and orange peel. Let me tell you, UH-mazing! You need to do this, like right now….

Now go do at least 5 of those 2,398 pins you have that you keep saying you’ll do later and feel productive like me :b

One response »

Leave a Reply

