New England Clammy Chow-da!

Standard

Today was a perfect ‘misty’ day out. It was foggy, drizzly, and perfect for a nice warm cup of New England Clam Chowder. Confession: I totally have my womanly-cycle and have been craving clam chowder for like a week already and when I crave I must have!

I found a good recipe on Pinterest but adjusted some since I didn’t have of the ingredients. For some reason the recipe only showed a ‘T’ for measurements, which I guess is where you are supposed to read the authors mind to figure out if that means Teaspoon or Tablespoon. I just winged it, here’s my take on the recipe:

Misty Day Crockpot Clam Chowder:

4 (6.5) oz cans minced clams, with liquid
2-4 slices bacon
1 medium onion chopped
3/4 cup celery (about 3 large stalks)
4-5 medium red potatoes, peeled and cut
1 carrot shredded
3 cups clam juice
2 chicken boullion cubes
1 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp celery salt
1 tbsp pepper
1 T fresh parsley
1 cup heavy cream
2 cups whole milk (I only had 2%, my gut will thank you later)
4-6 tsp corn starch
To make Roux:
1 cup butter
1 cup butter
1. Saute bacon in a pan until browned, add onion and cook a few more minutes.  Do not add the onion until the bacon is brown. (You can leave bacon pieces in but I took mine out, leaving onion and grease)
2. Add bacon and onion to crock pot along with clams, celery, carrots, clam juice, broth, salt, boullion, celery and pepper.
3. Cook on high for 2-3 hours
4. During the last hour add potatoes, cream and milk, proceed to make roux.
To make roux:
Add 1 cup butter to melt on medium high heat until just beginning to bubble, add 1 cup flour and whisk until smooth, no lumps. Cook only for about 3-5 minuets. Add mixture to chowder.
 Chowder is done when warmed through and thickened to your liking (After adding roux I left for another 20-30 minuets on high) 
*I forgot 2 very important if not most important ingredients, fresh Thyme and Oregano. Don’t settle for dried, the fresh herbs are what really rounds up this soup. I just did a few sprigs of each. *
With a few saltines it was heaveeeeen!
3 responses »

      • I totally understand. My mom has an old cookbook that I tried reading a cheesecake recipe out of and there was no measurement for the cream cheese. I’m guessing there was probably only one type of cream cheese and one set package size whenever the book was published (1960s I think?) but it still angered me because I had no idea if I was putting too much in or not enough. I wasn’t as adventurous of a baker back then as I am now so I wanted every exact detail told to me. ugh. I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

