Kousa Dogwood Fruit and a Career!

Standard

Oh what a day, what a day. On Friday…wait no, that’s not right…what is today? Tuesday? Okay on Monday I had a second interview with Bankers Life & Casualty which I was extra excited about 😀 Sorry I’m still smiling right now, because at the inteview they went over a few things with us and said that we would be called back for a 3rd and last interview if they wanted us and guess what? I just got called! 😀 I’m so excited. Since my beach job ended I’ve been super busy canning and whatnot until I get a job. And everyone knows that when you don’t have a job it feels like you’ll get one right away but it ends up being forever before you know it. Which is no bueno. I really wanted a job at Bankers Life because the manager conducting the interview talked about how learning the things they do there could have helped him with his grandmother that had Alzhiemers diesease before she passed away. Both of my grandmothers have that and I thought of how much good I could do in their lives. I also liked that it was a sales job, I’ve wanted a sales job for so long, feeling that I won’t just be good but that I can be great if someone gave me the chance to shine. I’m seriously so happy 😀
On another note I was running around today, returning moldy cucumbers, returning razors, returning things so I could get cash. Why? Do you ask? Because I’m a fool and left my debit card and license in my husbands wallet after we went out to eat the other day and forgot to ask for it back until I was ready to go out the door and he was already at work 😦 It’s fine though, it forced me to do the speed limit (or as close as I could bear to it) and to be extra frugal with what I got since I only had the cash I recieved from the returns.

Doesn’t look like the most appetizing but mine was sweet. I’ve heard they can also taste astringent and tart. I’m thinking because it’s late in the season it’s sweeter.

Before I went home I stopped by this thrift shop I love in downtown called Homeward Bound Treasures Thrift Store. I always find all sorts of wonderful things there. Today I got, a small picnic basket and a banner for my friends baby shower and spent $2 🙂 that’s my kind of price. As I got into my car I noticed there was a tree in front of me bearing some crazy-looking fruit. I picked one and cracked it open in my hand to smell it. It was yellow inside and smelled like a peach. I took another with me. After I was home I took a snapshot of it and uploaded it to Wildman Steve’s FB page and asked him what it was, and lo and behold it’s a Kousa Dogwood Fruit! I had no idea what that meant all I cared about was the words edible. Jackpot!

If I can eat it, then I need it; is my saying. I tasted the one I brought home and it was nice and sweet. Not overly sweet but subtle kind of like a peach or pear….I’m about to go and pick a basket full now I have all I need 🙂

Leave a Reply

