Trying my hand at Apple Butter

Standard

Don’t you just love when you write a whole post then it gets deleted just like that, out of thin air?! Yea :/ love it.

Husband got me that crockpot for our anniversary last year, he did very good...very good indeed

It’s pretty much impossible to be a ‘canner’ and not hear about Apple Butter. I wasn’t all about it until I read a recipe where a lady pretty much had a religious experience about Apple Butter. This had my taste buds attention. I like apples but I’m not an apple fanatic. I’m not crazy about apple pie (I usually only eat the crispy struesel part then make a neat little pile of pie innerds on the side of my plate) I’m not a fan of apple jelly (maybe because it was Walmart brand I tried?), but I figured I’d give it a go.

The recipe I made is simple:

Chop up a boatload of apples (boatload=12-18 in case you suck at reading my mind), rinse them well (did I say peel and core already? Oh yea, well do that first just cause it makes a little more sense). Drop pieces of diced apple on the floor at 10pm while trying not to wake up anyone in the house.

Now there should be enough apples to fill up your crockpot comfortably (just ask the apples if they are comfortable, offer them a hot beverage).

Then on top pour in 1.5 cups brown sugar, 1.5 cups white sugar, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 2 tbsp cinnamon (or was it tsp? eh, just choose one and throw it in), 1/4 tsp ground cloves, 1/4 tsp salt (I used kosher salt. I really had no reason to tell you that but I wanted to sound like one of those snobby recipe writers I see all over the interwebs, mission success.)

Set your crockpot on low for 8-10 hours (I’m doing mine overnight) and wake to find your house cleaned, breakfast on the table, every mess tidied up and put in it’s place, or a house smelling of apple cinnamon…one of those two.

Either way I’m excited to see what I find in the morning. It’s like Christmas only the gifts are apples and Santa isn’t here so I won’t have to share :b

If I don’t feel lazy remember tomorrow I’ll take some ‘after’ photos of me swimming in apple butter like a mad pregnant woman sampling 😉

Leave a Reply

