Ahh….what a wonderful day, pickles anyone?

Standard

Me and my Filipino other half plucked these from in front of Walgreens on our hunt for eggs

Today I feel like such a grandma, baking cookies, canning pickles. I’m probably going to crochet later just to cherry the cake! Haha but no, it’s been fun. I’ve tried something I’ve never done before and always wanted to: Pickling!! yum!yum!

This is what it looks like when the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles take a bath together he he he

I went crazy on my Pinterest looking for a good recipe for refrigerator pickles and just ended up doing a few real simple recipes I kind of made up on my own:

  1. Cukes, dill, a lot of garlic
  2. Cukes, dill, jalapeno, garlic
  3. Cukes, dill, sliced ginger, garlic

As you can see, I really love my garlic.

Cucumbers, garlic, & dill

First I scrubbed the cucumbers well and blanched them, then I stuffed the jars, ending in the cucumbers and poured a bring of 1 cup apple cider vinegar to 1 cup water with 2 tbsp salt. I prepared that 3 separate times since I like doing things the hard way for some reason 😦 but I’m very happy with my results.

Pickle party!

I will keep these on the counter for 2-3 days to ferment then in the fridge for another couple days. I’ll probably taste test after day 2 in the fridge 🙂 I’m super excited about home made pickles!!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weekend Wind Down | East Coast Girl

Leave a Reply

