Shopping: 24 Book Challenge

Standard

Today I went to my fav store: Goodwill.

I love Goodwill. I love the smell, I love the static air of hesitation when you walk in and everyone steals a glimpse of you in their periphs to try and decide if your worthy of the lower prices. I love the sweet elders that run the cash registers and what I love most is the finds. The way you literally have to move things around and open boxes like your playing a one sided scavenger hunt. Let me tell you, I’ve found some great hidden things on those bottom shelves under blankets and old board games.

Well, todays mission was as you could expect; books. I needed some new books to read for my 24 Book Challenge. And as I had just recently given away a bunch of great reads before we moved from Orlando back to Connecticut, I was completely bare.Image

I bought 2 books for $2.99 each that are brand new that would have run me about $45 if I had bought them at a book store. *yay me* And I borrowed 2 books from one of my friends.

Donald Miller is one of my favorite Authors, he talks about Christianity on a real basis and not in a ‘traditional bible-thumper’ way. He is hilarious and says things that would turn some peoples face red. I love him, he seems like the kind of guy you could have a sandwich with. Coffee is casual, anyone can have coffee with anyone, but a sandwich is a little more personal and I’d bet he’d eat a sandwich with me.

I should probably start one of these great books now.

2 responses »

  1. That’s awesome that you’re reading 24 books in a year. I have so many books that I have yet to read but they’re mostly chick lit so I’m not upset that I haven’t finished them yet. 😛 Let me know if you ever wanna venture to the Book Barn in Niantic sometime this summer.

Leave a Reply

